Student Organization Space welcome sign with students standing in the background
Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies

The Federalist Society at UConn Law helps add to the on-campus discussion of legal and policy issues. The local chapter hosts speaker events and debates to help promote a well-rounded legal education where multiple perspectives are explored in order to promote academic and intellectual diversity.

The Federalist Society is a 501(c)(3) organization which is non-partisan and not for profit; The Federalist Society does not endorse political candidates, policy initiatives, or policies in general.

Mission Statement

The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies is a group of conservatives and libertarians interested in the current state of the legal order.  It is founded on the principles that the state exists to preserve freedom, that the separation of governmental powers is central to our Constitution, and that it is emphatically the province and duty of the judiciary to say what the law is, not what it should be.  The Society seeks both to promote an awareness of these principles and to further their application through its activities.

This entails reordering priorities within the legal system to place a premium on individual liberty, traditional values, and the rule of law.  It also requires restoring the recognition of the importance of these norms among lawyers, judges, law students and professors.  In working to achieve these goals, the Society has created a conservative and libertarian intellectual network that extends to all levels of the legal community.

Officers 2021-2022

President: Brendan Liberati & Victoria James
Executive Vice-President: Kristen Perry
VP of Finance: Jed Messina
VP of Membership: Aaron Katz

Officers 2020-2021

President: Kyle Bechet
Executive Vice-President: Kristen Perry
VP of Finance: Victoria James
VP of Membership: Brendan Liberati
VP of Special Events: Shawn Pilares

Officers 2019-2020

President: Alex Schreiber
Executive Vice-President: Will Keefer
VP of Finance: Shawn Pilares
VP of Membership: Kyle Bechet
VP of Special Events: Jeremy Weyman
1L Student Representatives: Victoria James & Kristen Perry

Officers 2018-2019

President: Jonathan Hague
Executive Vice President: Alex Hyder
Vice President of Events: William Keefer 
Vice President of Finance: Alex Schreiber
Vice President of Membership: Raphael Ainbinder
Vice President of Communications: Katie Blouin

Officers 2017-2018

Co-Presidents: Mike Edelson & Christina Rubino
Executive Vice President: Katie Blouin
Vice President of Membership: Jesse King
Vice President of Special Events: Stacy Skankey
Vice President of Finance: Anthony Zucaro
Vice President of Outreach: Bradley Morley

Officers: 2016-2017

President: Darren Bruno
Vice President: Mike Cannata
Vice President of Special Events: Sydney Souder
Vice President of Finance: Gabriele Scala
Vice President of Membership: Christina Rubino

Advisor: Professor Douglas M Spencer

Events - 2014

Speaker: The Honorable James L. Buckley

The Honorable James L. Buckley is a former judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit, former Undersecretary of State under President Ronald Reagan, and former U.S. Senator for the State of New York.

For More Information

For more information please contact