Student Organization Space welcome sign with students standing in the background
Diversity Committee

Students attending the UConn School of Law strive to create a community that is inclusive of all viewpoints, races, nationalities, religions, and sexual orientation. The UConn School of Law Diversity Committee, a standing Committee under the umbrella of the UConn School of Law Student Bar Association (SBA), acts both proactively and reactively to promote, ensure and protect the open and inclusive nature of our law school's community.

The Committee acts proactively to promote diversity and create an open and inclusive community by working with administrators and faculty to ensure diversity training for students during orientation, for faculty as a part of their regular professional development, and by sponsoring events — such as, but not limited to, Diversity Week — throughout the school year that bring all members of our community together for thought provoking debate and discussion on the creation and maintenance of an inclusive community.

Officers 2017-2018

Elaf Al-Wohaibi & Geraldine Macaisa, Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Panico, Secretary

Onya Brown, Treasurer

Anastasiya Collins, Events Coordinator

Nicholas Smarra, Social Media Coordinator

Emma Hale, Outreach Coordinator 

Zeynep Aydogan, 1L Representative

Vania Legall, 1L Representative

Kileigh Nassau, 1L Representative

Jesse Sahani, 1L Representative

Joshua LaPorte, Faculty Advisor

Diversity Week

Diversity Week is a campus-wide event that showcases UConn Law School's commitment to offering a safe and diverse environment. First organized in 2011, the week's activities offer community members a chance to celebrate all of the differences that make each of us unique. Throughout the week, student organizations host a variety of events that encourage community members to take pause and appreciate how each member contributes to Law School's campus culture. Community members are encouraged to continue these conversations in their lives outside of the Law School. Beginning in 2013, Shipman & Goodwin LLP became the week's exclusive sponsor.

Officers 2016-2017

Committee Co-Chairs: Martha Adams, Dina Naiem
Committee Chair Assistants: Ahmed Galal, Esther Darko, Pamela Alberca
Secretary: John Conway
Treasurer: Stephanie O'Loughlin

Advisor: Josh LaPorte

Diversity Week 2016

The theme for Diversity Week 2016 is "Behind the Mask."  In the past, Diversity Week has addressed issues of race, ethnicity, and sexual orientation. This year we will be going a step further and focus on nonapparent forms of diversity including mental health, substance abuse, socioeconomic background, ideological differences, and religion.

For More Information

For more information contact