Student Organization Space welcome sign with students standing in the background
Diversity Alliance

Diversity Committee LogoThe University of Connecticut School of Law Diversity Alliance, an independent student-led organization, acts both proactively and reactively to promote, ensure and protect the open and inclusive nature of our law school's community. The Organization acts proactively to promote diversity and create an open and inclusive community by encouraging administrators to provide diversity training for students during orientation; by encouraging faculty to consider diversity workshops as personal development; by sponsoring events for the community—such as, but not limited to, Diversity Week—throughout the school year that bring all members of our community together for thought provoking debate and discussion on the creation and maintenance of an inclusive community; and with students by supporting the existing affinity groups. The Organization acts reactively when an event on campus enhances or challenges our belief in an open and inclusive community. The Committee will act as a facilitator of discussion for events that happen on campus or within the law school community.

Diversity Week

Diversity Week is a campus-wide event that showcases UConn Law School's commitment to offering a safe and diverse environment. First organized in 2011, the week's activities offer community members a chance to celebrate all of the differences that make each of us unique. Throughout the week, student organizations host a variety of events that encourage community members to take pause and appreciate how each member contributes to Law School's campus culture. Community members are encouraged to continue these conversations in their lives outside of the Law School. Beginning in 2013, Shipman & Goodwin LLP became the week's exclusive sponsor.

Officers 2020-2021

President: Patti Garwood
Vice President: Saman Azimi
Secretary: Gulrukh Haroon
Treasurer: Daniel Barrack
Outreach Coordinator: Richard Kirby

Officers 2019-2020

Co-Chairs: Mallori Thompson, Dev Awasthi
Secretary: Daisy Garrett
Treasurer: Jonah Strassler
Outreach Coordinator: Sierra Santana
Events Coordinator: Ryan Eugene
Socia Media Coordinator: Yadilza Reyes

Officers 2018-2019

Co-Chairs: Kileigh Nassau & Jennifer Labbadia
Secretary: Vania Legall
Treasurer: Pooja Salve
Events Coordinator: Jesse Sahani
Outreach Coordinator: Zeynep Aydogan
Social Media Coordinator: Savannah Sargent

Officers 2017-2018

Co-Chairs: Elaf Al-Wohaibi & Geraldine Macaisa
Secretary: Elizabeth Panico
Treasurer: Onya Brown
Events Coordinator: Anastasiya Collins
Social Media Coordinator: Nicholas Smarra
Outreach Coordinator: Emma Hale
1L Representatives: Zeynep Aydogan, Vania Legall, Kileigh Nassau, Jesse Sahani


Tanya Johnson, Reference Librarian
Thomas J. Meskill Law Library

For More Information

For more information contact