UConn Law alumni at annual reunion
Alumni Notes
Filter By Class Year
Keep in Touch

Send your alumni news to lawalumninotes@uconn.edu. And don't forget to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more news about UConn School of Law.

The accomplishments, milestones, awards and news of UConn School of Law alumni: 

Richard Hogan '89 Appointed to Mass. Mortgage Bankers Association Board
Richard Hogan
Jan 31, 2018 -

Richard Hogan '89 has been appointed to the Massachusetts Mortgage Bankers Association (MMBA) Board of Directors for a two-year term. Hogan has been a member of the MMBA for more than 10 years, and has presented on legal and regulatory matters in the mortgage banking industry a number of times. Hogan is currently Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer at Connecticut Attorneys Title Insurance Company. Previously, Hogan worked in the United States Congress and the Connecticut General Assembly.

In Memoriam: Steven Caley '81
Jan 5, 2018 -

Steven Caley '81, a partner at New York's Kelley Drye law firm, died on January 4, 2018. Read his obituary.

Franckline Casimir-Benoit '89 Joins Advisory Board
Jan 3, 2018 -

Franckline Casimir-Benoit '89 began a four-year long term on the American Bankers Association’s Certified Trust and Financial Advisor Advisory Board on January 1, 2018. Casimir-Benoit is the managing director and trust counsel at Fiduciary Trust Company International, a subsidiary of Franklin Templeton Investments. In her new position, Casimir-Benoit will use her 25 years of experience to advise on educational programming and industry events.

Jonathan B. Mills '85 Receives Lifetime Achievement Award
Dec 18, 2017 -

Jonathan B. Mills '85, the chairman and managing director at Cummings & Lockwood, has been named the recipient of the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award for his professional achievement and dedication to community service. He has been practicing law for more than 30 years, mainly in the area of commercial real estate. Mills, who resides in New Canaan, was also recently elected a Life Fellow of the Connecticut Bar Foundation.

Michael H. Lanza '86 Honored by National Center for State Courts
Nov 28, 2017 -

The National Center for State Courts inducted Michael H. Lanza '86, executive vice president, general counsel and chief compliance officer of Selective Insurance Company of America, into the Warren E. Burger Society at a ceremony on Nov. 16, 2017, in Washington, D.C. The society honors the center's most exceptional volunteers. Lanza, a member of the General Counsel Committee, was recognized for his support of the National Task Force on Fines, Fees, and Bail Practices. He and Selective Insurance are sponsoring a pilot project to explore whether training on a driving simulator can be an effective alternative for those who can't afford to pay court fines and fees for traffic violations. The center is a nonprofit court reform organization with headquarters in Williamsburg, Virginia, that was founded at the urging of U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Warren E. Burger.

Karen Goodwin '84 inducted as Hampden Superior Court judge
Sep 28, 2017 -

Karen Goodwin '84 has been inducted as a Hampden Superior Court judge in Springfield, Massachusetts. Previously, Goodwin served as an assistant U.S. attorney and worked on civil cases from the four Western Massachusetts counties. Outisde of work, Goodwin is active in the Springfield Schools Volunteers program, where she helps provide academic support to public school students.

Curtis Johnson '89 Becomes CFE/Save The Sound CEO
Sep 13, 2017 -

Curtis Johnson '89 has been named CEO of The Connecticut Fund for the Environment/Save the Sound. Presently, Johnson serves as the executive director. Originally, he lead the organization's legal team and has since taken on numerous roles including program director, executive director of Save the Sound and executive director of the land and water, communications, legal and memberships offices.

In Memoriam: Susan Seidler Chambers '80
Jul 19, 2017 -

Susan Seidler Chambers '80, a lawyer at Carmody & Torrance LLP for 27 years, died July 18, 2017. Read her obituary.

Bessy Reyna '82 Reads Work at Stowe Center
Jun 22, 2017 -

Bessy Reyna '82 read her poetry at the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center in Hartford on June 25, 2017. Reyna's reading, entitled A Day in the Life of an Immigrant Latino Poet, is part of the Riverwood Poetry Social Justice Reading program. Reyna has received many awards over the course of her career, including Latina Citizen of the Year from the State of Connecticut Latino and Puerto Rican Affairs Commission, Lifetime Achievement in Service to the Literary Community from the Connecticut Center for the Book and induction into the Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame.

Karen L. Goodwin '84 Nominated to Bench in Massachusetts
Karen Goodwin
Jun 21, 2017 -

Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker has nominated Karen L. Goodwin '84 to the post of associate justice on the Massachusetts Superior Court, the statewide court of general jurisdiction for criminal and civil actions. Goodwin has served as an assistant U.S. attorney since 1991, and has worked in both civil and criminal litigation.