Professor Sara C. Bronin has been elected to the American Law Institute

Professor Sara Bronin
Professor Sara C. Bronin has been elected to the American Law Institute
January 30, 2015
Hartford, CT

UConn Law Professor Sara C. Bronin, an architect and attorney whose expertise includes historic preservation and renewable energy, has been elected to the American Law Institute, the leading independent national organization working to clarify, modernize and improve the law.

Professor Bronin’s scholarly research examines property, land use, historic preservation, green building and renewable energy law. In addition to her teaching responsibilities, she serves as faculty director for the Law School’s Center for Energy and Environmental Law. At the A.L.I,  she will be an associate reporter for the  forthcoming Restatement (Fourth) of Property Law, focusing on sections dealing with land use. 

“Sara's energetic contributions to the school and to the community as well her thoughtful scholarship more than qualify her for this honor,” said Richard Kay, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development. “I know she will apply the manifold talents that have distinguished her here to the work of the Institute. “

Professor Bronin (formerly Galvan) chairs the City of Hartford's Planning and Zoning Commission and the Connecticut Urban Legal Initiative. She serves on the boards of the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation, the Connecticut Trust Revolving Loan Fund, the Connecticut Fund for the Environment and the Bushnell Park Foundation. She recently received the American Institute of Architects' Alice Washburn Award, the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation Award of Merit, and a Hartford Preservation Alliance Preservation Award for her design and rehabilitation of her Civil War-era brownstone in downtown Hartford. She received bachelor's degrees in architecture and Plan II liberal arts honors from the University of Texas, a master’s degree in economic and social history from the University of Oxford – which she attended as a Rhodes Scholar – and a law degree from Yale Law School.

The American Law Institute limits its elected membership to 3,000 lawyers, judges, and law professors. Professor Bronin joins 12 other full-time, associated and retired Law School faculty who are members: Bethany Berger, Phillip Blumberg, Anne Dailey, Timothy Fisher, Mark Janis, Peter Kochenberger, Lewis Kurlantzick, Ellen Ash Peters, Stephen Utz, Carol Weisbrod, Robert Whitman and Nicholas Wolfson.