Alumni Association Award Winners 2013

Alumni Association Award Winners 2013


Michelle Helmin
Director of Communications
September 13, 2013

Three distinguished members of the UConn Law community will be honored at The University of Connecticut Law School Alumni Association, Inc. Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner on October 29, 2013.

The Distinguished Graduate Award will be presented to Michael L. Aresco ’76. Mr. Aresco was named commissioner of the Big East Conference in August 2012 where he has managed the successful rebranding of the league as the American Athletic Conference. Mr. Aresco is a former executive vice president of programming at CBS Sports where he oversaw the acquisition and management of CBS Sports college properties, including the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship, regular-season college basketball and football, conference basketball championship games, football bowl games and other programming. Mr. Aresco played an integral role in the landmark deal that created the CBS Sports-Turner Broadcasting partnership, which resulted in the acquisition of the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championship rights through 2024.

Willajeanne F. McLean will be presented with the Association’s Distinguished Service Award. Dean McLean served as interim dean of the Law School for 2012-2013 academic year. Dean McLean is an internationally recognized expert on the interface of intellectual property and European law. She has been a member of the faculty since 1991 and has taught Trademark Law, Torts, Law and Institutions of the European Union, and a seminar on intellectual property law in the EU.

This year’s Public Service Award will go to The Honorable John A. Danaher, III ’80, a Connecticut Superior Court judge. Judge Danaher currently is assigned to the Litchfield seat of courts. Since his appointment, he has written more than 150 opinions. He has twice served as an instructor at the Connecticut Judges’ Institute and he is a member of the Judicial Department Education Committee.

Full biographies are available at

High resolution photos are available by contacting Bianca Slota via e-mail or at 860-570-5020.

The Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner will be held at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville, Connecticut. Cocktails begin at 6:00 p.m. Tickets are available at $60 per person or $800 per table (10 people) and can be purchased by visiting or by calling Julia B. Dunlop at 860-570-5149.