Explanation of Tuition & Fees
All students are subject to a tuition charge in addition to the other fees charged Connecticut and out-of-state students. Each student should file an Affidavit of Residence form provided by the University. Based on the information provided, each entering student is classified as a Connecticut or an out-of-state resident. A student who fails to submit this form will be classified as an out-of-state resident.
The current schedule of fees is expected to prevail during the current academic year, but the board of trustees of the University of Connecticut and the Board of Higher Education reserves the right to make changes in fees at any time. Fee bills for the first-year students are mailed soon after June 1 for the fall semester. Fee bills for the upperclass students are mailed soon after July 1 for the Fall semester. Fee bills for all students will be mailed soon after November 1 for the spring semester.
Failure to receive a bill does not relieve a student of responsibility for payment of tuition and fees by the due date. Registration is not complete until all tuition and fees have been paid in full on or before the Tenth business day of the semester. Failure to make payment on time will result in late fees, cancellation of registration and other privileges accorded a student in good standing. These include but are not limited to: advance registrations, registrations, class attendance and academic transcript privileges. Partial payment of tuition and fees will be accepted however the bill must be paid in full for holds to be released.
Late Registration/Payment Fee
An accumulating penalty fee is charged students who fail to pay all due fees on or before the first day of classes of any semester (additions to and deletions from a student's initial registration and payment of the resulting adjusted fee bill can occur freely through the end of the tenth business day of the semester).
This fee is $5 for each weekday (excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal State holidays) occurring after the tenth day of the semester that registration and payment have not been completed. Students granted a limited deferment by the Student Finance Office are charged the late fee if they fail to meet any of the terms of the deferment. For these students, the fee begins to accumulate on the first business day following a deferment date.
Day Division tuition
There is no adjustment for Evening Division students registered in Day Division courses. Students classified as Connecticut residents pay tuition of $10,620 per semester, if registering for 12 or more credits per semester. Connecticut resident students registering for less than 12 credits per semester pay approximately $885 per credit.
Students classified as out-of-state residents pay tuition of $22,368 per semester, if registering for 12 or more credits per semester. Out-of-state student registering for less than 12 credits per semester pay approximately $1,864 per credit.
Students who are residents of the New England Compact state of Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or Rhode Island pay tuition of $18,576 per semester, if registering for 12 or more credits per semester. Compact-state-resident students registering for less than 12 credits per semester pay approximately $1,548 per credit.
Evening Division tuition
There is no adjustment for Day Division students registered for Evening Division courses. There is no maximum tuition charge for Evening Division students. Students classified as Connecticut residents pay tuition of $740 per credit.
Students classified as out-of-state residents pay tuition of $1,561 per credit.
Students who are residents of the New England Compact states of Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts or Rhode Island pay tuition of $1,296 per credit.
General University Fee
The General University Fee (GUF) was instituted at the University to help support student related programs and institutional services of those programs. These programs are, by definition, ancillary to the educational mission of the University and are expected to generate a portion of their operating revenue through fees for services or sales changes. The General University Fee provides support for such programs as recreational activities, Student Health Services and other campus activities and programs.
A deposit of $50, due at the time of payment of initial tuition and fees, must be maintained by all students at the University. This deposit, less deductions for breakage, fines, and other outstanding charges, is refunded to students graduating or officially withdrawing from the University.
All students are charged a technology fee each semester for the support of academic technology.
Student Activity Fee
All students are charged a mandatory, nonrefundable activity fee of $82 per semester. The proceeds from this fee are used by the Student Bar Association for its programs for student welfare and recreation.
A parking fee of $40 per year is charged to those student wishing to use the very limited University parking facilities without risk of receiving a ticket. This fee is payable with all other fees prior to the commencement of the fall semester. A $5 charge is assessed for each additional vehicle registered. Summer term students who do not have a valid student parking decal may purchase a summer registration decal for a charge of $5.
Insurance LL.M. Program Fee
The fee for the Insurance LL.M. Program is $1,091 per credit. Click here for additional information.
U.S. Legal Studies Fee
The fee for the U.S. Legal Studies LL.M. Program is $983 per credit. Click here for additional information.
Infrastructure Maintenance Fee
All students are charged an infrastructure maintenance fee each semester for the support of operating and maintenance (O&M) costs related to the UConn 2000 projects as well as preventative and deferred maintenance. The pro-rated fee is assessed based on the number of credits for which the student is registered.
Late Payment Fee
An accumulating late payment fee of $5 per day is payable by all law students whose tuition and fees are not paid in full on or before the respective semester's payment deadline, for a period not to exceed an additional 20 business days. Checks returned by the bank for any reason are considered late.
Bad Check Charge
Students who pay tuition and/or fees with a check returned for insufficient funds are charged a $15 fee. This charge may be cleared by remitting cash, a money order, or a bank cashier's check in the amount of the returned check plus the $15 fee.
Students auditing courses pay the same tuition and fees as those students who have enrolled for course credit. Tuition is charged on the basis of course credit hours, while the charge for the other fees (e.g., the General University Fee), is dependent on the students' total course load (part-time, half-time or full-time).
Student Identification Card
Each newly entering student is furnished with a personal identification card. Should the student's card become lost or destroyed, a replacement will be issued for a fee of $15.