Determination of residency
Residency for purposes of tuition charges is governed by Sec. 10a-29 and 10a-30 of the Connecticut General Statutes. Any student who was classified as an out-of-state resident upon entry may petition to change that classification one year after they establish domicile in Connecticut. Petition forms are available in Chase 104.
The student must provide information to support the student's emancipation. The student must be emancipated and a resident of Connecticut for 12 months. ("Emancipated" means that the student is at least 18 years old and not claimed as a dependent for income tax or other purposes). Further, "The domicile of any emancipated person receiving regular financial assistance from his parent, or whose parent's income was taken into account by any private or governmental agency furnishing financial educational assistance to such person, including scholarships, loans, or otherwise, is that of his parent." (emphasis added) [C.G.S.A. 10a-30 (1992).]
The student must provide copies of the following:
- voter registration;
- driver's license;
- automobile registration;
- bank account statement; and
- federal and state tax returns.
The following circumstances may apply to some students.
- The spouse of a person eligible for classification as an in-state student is eligible for classification as an in-state student. Members of the armed services stationed in Connecticut and their spouses and un-emancipated children are eligible for classification as in-state students.
- Any student classified as out-of-state may petition for a change of that classification by filing a change request with the associate dean for finance and administration.
In-State Residency Application Information
Title 10a of the General Statutes of Connecticut provides the ability for students to become Connecticut residents under certain circumstances. Students wishing to become in-state residents should read C.G.S.A 10a-28 through 10a-30 inclusive. Parents or other family members may not contribute more than $1200 per year to your financial support nor can they claim you on their tax return. Support in an amount greater than $1200 is considered a substantial financial contribution, resulting in a determination that you are not emancipated. Therefore, your domicile is that of your parent's and your residency that of the state in which they live.
In order to apply for Connecticut residency, students must submit an application to Chase Hall, Room 104. You can download the application here. When an application is submitted, students must include copies of:
- Connecticut Driver's License
- Connecticut Car Registration
- Connecticut Car Insurance
- Connecticut Voter's Registration
- Health Care card , insurance must be your own.
- Lease or Rent checks, if your lease is co-signed, you must submit rent checks.
- A letter of emancipation from your parents or legal guardian--This letter is required no matter your age, marital status, etc. The emancipation letter documents your independence from your parents and other family members, the fact that you are no longer declared as a dependent on their taxes, and that you are financially independent.
- Proof of independent payment of tuition and living expenses from personal sources including Financial Aid, loans or employment as evidenced on your tax form.
- A copy of tax returns showing a Connecticut filing address
- A Bank statement or voided check showing a Connecticut mailing address